Happy Birthday Jordan’s Brains!

I published my first novel, Jordan’s Brains, one year ago today. I feel like celebrating! Maybe I’ll bake a cake (or buy one from the grocery store; I don’t like to spend more than a few minutes at a time in the kitchen – it’s a scary place).

brain

It seems like a lot more than 365 days has passed since I published Jordan’s Brains. There have been many ups and downs over the past year, but I wouldn’t change a thing. I’ve written three books since publishing my first, and I got a publishing deal with Line by Lion Publications. The best part about publishing Jordan’s Brains was meeting several fantastic authors, readers, and editors who have become dear friends.

Edward Wolfe, one of my closest author friends, recently tagged me in a blog hop. If you haven’t read any of his books, you should start with his short story, When Everything Changed. It’s about aliens that invade the earth with the goal of improving the human race. At only 99 cents, this story is a bargain. Check it out here on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/When-Everything-Changed-Edward-Wolfe-ebook/dp/B00BWH9KMO/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1400731057&sr=8-2&keywords=edward+wolfe

If you’re a fan of apocalypse novels, then you should definitely read Edward Wolfe’s In The End. There aren’t any zombies in the book, but it’s a great apocalypse story that will keep you turning pages like there’s no tomorrow! In The End is a steal at only $1.99 on Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/In-The-End-pre-apocalypse-novel-ebook/dp/B00HJIIRZG/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top

The purpose of this blog hop is to describe my writing process. I’ll try not to bore you too much, but you might want to grab a Red Bull to help you stay awake. Here goes:

Q. What am I working on?

A. I’m actually between projects right now. I recently finished writing my second zombie novel, and I’m waiting to get my edits from my publisher. In the meantime, I’m doing a whole lotta nothin’. I’m kicking around ideas for a third novel, which *gasp* isn’t about zombies. Weird, right? Now I just need to find the time to sit down and write this bad boy. My better half is going out of town next week, so I’m determined to crank out the first few chapters whilst he’s gone.

Q. How does my work differ from others in the genre?

A. I write in a, well, let’s say “crowded” genre. There are more zombie books out there than weight loss books. Actually, I have no idea if that’s true. But my point is there are more zombie novels than I can read in my lifetime. If you’re a zombie writer, you absolutely have to do something unique with your book. My first zombie novel is told from the perspective of a psychotic zombie expert whose gender is never revealed. The second zombie book that I wrote is set in the 1950’s. Zombie writers have to come up with fresh ideas to keep readers interested.

One of my favorite zombie books was written by Ian McClellan. It’s about the U.S. faking the moon landing to avert the zombie apocalypse. Not only does it have a unique plot, but the writing is top notch and the characters are likeable (the perfect recipe for a successful zombie novel). If you’re looking for a great zombie read, pick up a copy of One Undead Step by Ian McClellan: http://www.amazon.com/One-Undead-Step-Ian-McClellan/dp/1925047598/ref=la_B0088Q14BM_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1400732499&sr=1-2

Q. Why do I write what I write?

A. Have you popped the top of your second Red Bull yet? Now would be a good time. I’ll wait…

My day job is a tad bit boring, and writing gives me an outlet to be creative (cliché, I know… just drink your Red Bull). Sometimes I have silly thoughts that I can’t say out loud because I’ll be shunned, committed, or worse, but if I have one of my characters say or do these strange things then I can say it’s art. That’s why I write what I write – to get out my “sillies.” I probably didn’t answer this question correctly, but my blog = my rules.

Q. How does my writing process work?

A. Once I start writing, I can’t stop. I usually wake up early in the morning and write for as long as I can before I have to go to work. Then I write as much as possible on the weekends. Once I finish my first draft, I read through it and realize it’s total crap, which is when I start my obsessive editing routine. I edited my first novel nine times before I was satisfied.

I know this is a short answer, but it’s late, I’m tired, etc. I guess I should have had a Red Bull.

Q. Who’s next?

A. There are lots of bloggers that I want to pass the torch to, but I’ve narrowed it down to two authors. First, I chose Inion Mathair, an awesome Mother/Daughter writing team. They are a kindhearted pair with a deeply rooted love for books and the craft of writing. I’m so happy that I’ve gotten to know these wonderful women. Their blog is one of my favorites: http://inionnmathair.wordpress.com/

I love their book The Perfect 7; it’s about a teenage rock band that comes of age when they’re faced with bloodthirsty demons. It’s a chilling tale, but it also kept me laughing throughout the story (a perfect combination!). Check it out here on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Perfect-Heaven-youve-choice-bitch/dp/1490908285/ref=sr_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1400733597&sr=1-2&keywords=inion+mathair

I also chose Cristiane Serruya, the author of the romance trilogy: Trust. I devoured all three books in record time, and I highly recommend you read these gems. The first book is Trust: A New Beginning: http://www.amazon.com/Trust-New-Beginning-Cristiane-Serruya/dp/1480236292/ref=la_B00A85DHT8_1_3?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1400734267&sr=1-3

Not only is Cristiane a sweetheart, but she has a fascinating life. She has lived and studied in England, France, Italy, Switzerland, and Brazil. After twenty-two years of practicing law, she decided to try her hand at writing (and I’m glad she did!). To find out more about Cristiane, check out her website: http://www.cristianeserruya.com.br/site/

One thought on “Happy Birthday Jordan’s Brains!

Leave a comment